Bruce McNutt

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 25 posts
  • Region:Atlantic
  • Car Year:2000
  • Car Number:25
Hi,

I’m new to Spec Miata racing . However I have been Road Racing for 19 years. I’m trying to set up the suspension on my 2000 Miata and I really need some advice from SM Gurus. My car is a brand new build including the suspension. Recently I took it out for my maiden race with this car. Turns out, it happened on a double race weekend. Therefore I had 5 races including 4- 15 lap Sprint races & a 1-hour Enduro as well as a practice/qual session on BOTH days. Same for Sat & Sun. I did 10 races in total. The first 3 races, I could not get the car to power out of any corners without serious oversteer. I kept backing off the rear swaybar until the only way to make the car behave was to disconnect it on one side. But throughout the rest of the races I did not feel the car could bite into the corners, tire wise.

I originally set up the car on a professional state of the art alignment machine as per Jim Daniels on-line recommendations. However according to my alignment guy, he could not adjust the car to the max camber settings that Jim recommends. So, here are my specs as raced. If you can give me any suggestions to improve this car – I’D BE GREATLY APPRECIATED!

Our track is tight 1.5 miles, 11 turns & bumpy. Clockwise.

2000 Miata (never in any accident) – super low mileage Torsen LSD, 27mm from bar.
205/50ZR15 Toyo R888 (stickers – see photos after 10 races below). The tires were run 5 races and then rotated (front to rear) for the other 5 races. Tire pressures were approx. 38psi hot.

FL (ride height = 5” to spot weld on rocker)
4.8 deg caster
0 toe
-1.9 deg camber

FR (ride height = 5” to spot weld on rocker)
4.8 deg caster
0 toe
-1.9 deg camber

RL (ride height = 4-3/4” to spot weld on rocker)
0 toe
-2.5 deg camber

RR (ride height = 4-3/4” to spot weld on rocker)
0 toe
-2.5 deg camber

Posted Image