• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

exninja

exninja

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 20 posts
  • Region:AZ
Hi Everyone! I just created an account and thought I'd introduce myself. My name's Eric from Arizona and I'm a Mechanical Engineer. My family's always enjoyed cars and racing, and I'm no exception. I bought an Integra (awesome car) when I started college and later thought that I'd eventually turn that into a track car. When I graduated college three years ago I bought myself an '09 Cobalt SS (awesomer car). I gave wifey the integra to drive since her older car was falling apart. I now graduated with my master's and have a good job so we bought a Tiguan (still evaluating) for the wife cuz she wanted something bigger. That freed up the Integra. I went to my first track day with ProAutoSports in January, where my uncle tracks a street car uncompetitively. They have a small group of "Street Stock Miatas" which my instructor happened to lead. That was my first passive intro to SM. Now that building a track car was actually doable, I thought about it and it seemed that selling the Integra would be the best move since it had leather, a moon roof, working A/C, etc. I figured I could buy something else that didn't have the bells and whistles that I'd end up tossing or selling and use the excess to buy performance parts. After looking around I think that going with a Miata would be the best option. So here I am!

The benefits that I see for going into SM are that I can race the same car in 2-3 organizations with good parity. I don't expect to become a contender for any championships or anything, but I want to be able to have scheduling options. Everything I've read says that SM is the cheapest route to get into w2w racing.