Garrett Richardson

Garrett Richardson

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Region:Central Florida
  • Car Year:1993
  • Car Number:130
Hi, I am new in the Spec Miata community and trying to get my feet wet into SM racing. I have a 1990 which I have made some upgrades within the limitations of the rules. Currently I am having trouble finding a paint shop for my car. All the local guys want over $2000 for just the outside and roll cage that I will be installing shortly. Any ideas on a cheaper way? Also is there anywhere I can go to find a used SM suspension set up or do I have to buy brand new? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Alberto

Alberto

Veteran Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,471 posts
  • Region:SFR
  • Car Year:1990

Hi, I am new in the Spec Miata community and trying to get my feet wet into SM racing. I have a 1990 which I have made some upgrades within the limitations of the rules. Currently I am having trouble finding a paint shop for my car. All the local guys want over $2000 for just the outside and roll cage that I will be installing shortly. Any ideas on a cheaper way? Also is there anywhere I can go to find a used SM suspension set up or do I have to buy brand new? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Paint is expensive. Live with it or try Maaco. Interior you can DIY.

I wouldn't bother with a used SM suspension setup. Shocks take a lot of abuse.

The Spec Miata Constructors Manual by Dave Wheeler from Advanced Automotive is a good guide.
http://www.advanced-...db9b853d742ae61
Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver

Kevin Anderson

Kevin Anderson

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 62 posts
  • Region:NYR
  • Car Year:1999
  • Car Number:22
I Paint my own car, and over the years I have gotten pretty good at it. Saves a ton of money during repairs as well. I would say get a book, watch some how to videos and start learning.
  • Garrett Richardson likes this
Kevin Anderson
Kevin@techsportracing.com
www.techsportracing.com