Photo

Need help with college ethnography essay! (the study of racers)

- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

Joey Jordan

Joey Jordan

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 32 posts
  • Region:SO CAL
  • Car Year:1991
  • Car Number:47

For my cultural anthropology class my teacher assigned me to write an ethnography on an American sub culture.  Which basically means I need to study a group of people.  I couldnt think of a better group of people than racers.  SInce I've been racing for only a couple of years now I would appreciate some input from some of you with much more experince in the culture that is racers.

Some of the questions that need to be answered:

What regalia or costumes or clothing do they wear and how does it
compare or contrast with the general population?

What makes the group understudy unique--in other words what
makes them a group, a clan, a family.

Describe the food and drink involved with the group. How does it
reflect or relate to the make-up of the group--what role does food and drink
play? Are there “food rituals’?

Did you note any mating rituals or courtship within the group? How
so? What are the rituals or acts that you would associate with
mating/dating/courtship/hooking up in the group?

What can you see and say about status and role? Are there leaders,
followers, status, egalitarianism, --gender within this topic? How did/do the
“leaders” gain or come to power?  What
are the manifestations of status and role?

Give examples of non-verbal communication that you may have noted in the
group.

That is just some of the things to respond to but anything will help.  Any sort of ritual that we do or how we interact.  Love to hear some great input!

Thanks- Joey

Majors Winner - We have a Winnah! - Won their 1st race... Congratulations! Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver Majors Winner -

Tyler Dahl

Tyler Dahl

• SMembers
  • PipPipPip
  • 70 posts
  • Car Number:70