Maniac motorsports12

Maniac motorsports12

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Region:SJR
  • Car Year:1999
  • Car Number:12

When the throttle is moved just past idle and held there, the RPM surges radically, from all most stalling to back to where you are holding the throttle.  It makes it very difficult getting out of the pits.  I tried putting in a new ECU and no change.  I tried shutting the car off and re-starting, and sometimes that is a temporary fix, but not all the time.  At higher RPM it does not do it, just that 1k to 2k range.  If I disconnect the electrical connector on the side of the throttle body it stops but then the idle is way to high.  Any help would be appreciated.  No one locally has any idea.

David S.

David S.

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 90 posts
  • Region:Mid-Atlantic
  • Car Year:1991
  • Car Number:07
I'm still new to the Miatas but on all of the Hondas I have owned if they got low on coolant they would act like that. Check the coolant and make sure that it is properly bled. Good luck!

Jim Drago

Jim Drago

East Street Racing / 2 Time National Champion

• Administrators
  • 6,566 posts
  • Region:Mid South
  • Car Year:2005
  • Car Number:2

You have a dirty or bad idle air control motor.  You can try remove the the throttle body and clean it out with carb cleaner.  If that doesn't work, you need a throttle body. I think I know a guy who sells them :)  This is very common on 9 Miatas. Changed two this weekend

East Street Auto Parts
Jim@Eaststreet.com
800 700 9080