Photo

First time removing tranny...what else to switch out?

• Please log in to reply
138 replies to this topic

stillentwint17

stillentwint17

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 61 posts

Hi all,

i'm a complete noob at all this so my apologies for the blatant ignorance in advance. A few months ago i posted a thread, discussing oil leaking from my engine into my tranny. I decided to forget about it until I got a few (previously purchased) track days out of the way. Now, I have 3 weeks until my next track event so I'm going to remove the tranny to fix the rear main seal. That seemed to be the prognosis at the end of that thread. (thanks for the advice on that thread. I purchased all the tools and parts specified to me).

As I am removing the tranny, I'm debating what else I should switch out, such as getting a new tranny rebuilt and putting in a new clutch, just because i will be down there. My tranny seems fine, i think. I miss 3rd gear quite a lot but that could just be me. An instructor sat in my car and said the clutch was going becuase it was rattling. I dont feel any slip in it but he had said there's something going on with it.

Since I'm removing the tranny, is it worth switching out the clutch/flywheel and get a re-built tranny just due to the hassel of having to remove it, or should i just leave it and switch out the seals/gaskets.

My car is a spec miata from the 90's or so. Its pretty slow but its a lot of fun.

I'd greatly appreciate any and all input.

Thanks guys,

Glenn

Glenn

Mid Pack Member

• SMembers
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 864 posts
  • Region:SE

Hi all,