VIR New Pavement - A few qualifying laps

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

Duncan

Duncan

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 251 posts

Thought I'd post up my Sunday qualifying session, which was mostly run in free air, to show people what the new pavement looks like at VIR.  This is my first time to the track in 3 years, so I'm a little rusty in places.  This was a NASA event, so best lap on Toyo RR's was a 2:18.2

https://vimeo.com/90284303

Comments/critiques are always appreciated.

Duncan

• RacerX likes this
Series Champ - Won a points based series in a Spec Miata Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver We have a Winnah! - Won their 1st race... Congratulations!

LarryKing

LarryKing

Veteran Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,659 posts

2:18.2 is "a little rusty" ? !

I like the new run-off at NASCAR bend track-out. Hopefully will reduce some carnage.

Did they fix the car-launching drain in the grass, drivers right, before Oakless Tree?

2017 - SMSE SEDiv ECR Champion
Donor - Made PayPal donation Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver

Duncan

Duncan

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 251 posts

2:18.2 is "a little rusty" ? !

I like the new run-off at NASCAR bend track-out. Hopefully will reduce some carnage.

Did they fix the car-launching drain in the grass, drivers right, before Oakless Tree?

The runoff on three is very nice.  There's also some additional pavement at South Bend.  No enough to really make it quicker, but enough to bail you out if you run to the edge of the curbing. 

No idea on the drain.  I vaguely remember that from 3 years ago.

The new line through 'Oak Tree' is much better now.  Better flow, and significantly quicker.

Duncan

Series Champ - Won a points based series in a Spec Miata Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver We have a Winnah! - Won their 1st race... Congratulations!

Jim Drago

Jim Drago

East Street Racing / 2 Time National Champion

• Administrators
  • 6,566 posts
  • Region:Mid South