Randy Wolfgram

Randy Wolfgram

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Region:SFR
  • Car Year:1995
  • Car Number:19

First timer here, so still trying to figure out what is normal for this car.  I bought the car in March and had it up at Thunderhill late in the summer with 100+ ambient temps and the car ran between 210 and 219, in clean air for most of the day, with a couple of blips up around 221 later in the day.  Readings are coming from my data logger with the sensor on the thermostat housing.  CSF radiator (no bent fins or clogs) with a 16 lb cap, no thermostat and the heater core is not bypassed.  Fan works fine, but doesn't come on until around 219, at which point the car cools back down to around 210.  I've read multiple threads on overheating issues, but some are saying these cars should not run much over 190, even in high ambient temps and others are saying it's fine.  Since I'm just getting started, I really want to figure out if I should be chasing this as a problem or not so looking for advice on whether or not I need to worry about this.

Thanks in advance.

James York

James York

AKA Cajun Miata Man; Overdog Driver

• SMembers
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 898 posts
  • Region:Houston
  • Car Year:2003
  • Car Number:03

Randy,

I would say 220 in clean air is too hot.  I never see above 200 at any ambient temperature in clear air.  You aren't overheating yet, but I would suspect you are losing some power.  (I can't recall the 95 ECU maps)

My guess is that the culprit is your radiator.  For maximum cooling, most SM's use multiple pass cross flow radiators.  I think the CSF is a single pass top/bottom tank type radiator.  Not the best you can buy.

James York

sponsored by:
Stan's Auto Center, Lafayette LA

powered by:
East Street Racing, Memphis TN

2003 Spec Miata

Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver

Alberto

Alberto

Veteran Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,471 posts
  • Car Year:1990

Randy,