- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

MattNJ

MattNJ

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Just wanted to say hi to everyone. I am new to specMiata and look forward to creating new friendships along the way.
I do not have have a car yet etc., so please do not get pissed if I ask too many questions (or the same questions multiple times) lol.
I do have one initial question, and I realize it may be broad, but I'm looking for tons of input- I was thinking of a 1995 Miata. Pros/cons if any? Any year you think might be better? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

svvs

svvs

do they sell spec training wheels yet?

• SMembers
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 518 posts
  • Region:NYR
  • Car Year:1991
  • Car Number:12?

Good morning!  Where in New Jersey are you?  There are plenty of racers all through the state who would be willing to offer you assistance.

As for the year of car to start with.......welcome to the main debate of spec miata.  Are you going to build a car, buy a used car, or have a new car built for you?

I drive a 1991 and love my car.  If I was going to start over though it would be with one of the newer 1999 or 2001 cars.  Some folks say these models are easier to drive because they have more torque.....I'd probably go that route anyway just because I'm tired of wrenching on an older car.

If it's an option you could always rent cars of the different years, though they may be at different prep levels.  If you're going to buy a car that is already built.....just remember you can change just about anything in an existing car, but changing a roll cage is a big pain.

-Vick

Vick
www.volko.com
Black SM/SM2/"Slap Bracelet Throwback" #12 in the Northeast....if the car was made in the early 90's it should look like it.

1.6L forever!  Bring on your '99's and '01's!

Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver We have a Winnah! - Won their 1st race... Congratulations! Donor - Made PayPal donation

Danny Steyn

Danny Steyn

Zulu rain warrior

• SMembers