lx93

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Region:northeast
  • Car Year:1996
  • Car Number:83
hello fellow mazda racers,

I have a 96 SM that i had bought back in May and raced this past season, Since I am new to the SM racing and very inexperienced in working on my own car, I need some suggestions. The current motor in the car is at its end of life(low compression on no.4 piston and oil particles shooting out of the exhaust, and rattling around 2500rpm not lifter noise).

I want to keep the budget around 3000 with it installed, and what do you think is the best way to go about this? seems like the new rule dictates a stock head so i am assuming that the cost now of having a competitive motor is lower.

Mike Collins

Mike Collins

Big Cheese

• Moderators
  • 1,262 posts
  • Region:Washington DC
  • Car Number:75
Where r u?
Mike "MEATHEAD" Collins
Founder - Partner
MEATHEADRacing
240-476-1593

www.meatheadracing.com
Make it Rain - Made Paypal donation of $100+ Sponsor / Advertiser - Site sponsor / advertiser... support these guys! Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver Sugar Daddy - Made PayPal donation of $500+ Donor - Made PayPal donation Beta-Tester - Assisted us with beta testing the website. MX5 Cup Participant - Has Participated in a MX5Cup.com Series Event Instigator - Made a topic or post that inspired other

Mike Collins

Mike Collins

Big Cheese

• Moderators
  • 1,262 posts
If you can R&R the motor on your own. Your local machine shop can do the motor for $1500-$2000 plus parts. Depending what you need another $1200-$1500.
Mike "MEATHEAD" Collins
Founder - Partner
MEATHEADRacing
240-476-1593

www.meatheadracing.com