Amy M

Amy M

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 25 posts
  • Region:New York
  • Car Year:2002
  • Car Number:14
I've been racing SM for 8 years now and I've only been injured three times. All 3 times I was collected unavoidably by other incidents on track. The last 2 injuries were within 3 months of each other at the Glen, and in the same corner (9) with the same injury. I'm curious how other racers grapple with the risk vs reward of the sport and how you handle comments from non-racing friends and and family who think we are crazy?
I'll admit I haven't seriously considered quitting but wondering if I have a screw loose for continuing.

Caveman-kwebb99

Caveman-kwebb99

Veteran Member

• SMembers
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,062 posts
  • Region:Great lakes
  • Car Year:2000
  • Car Number:99
Calculating rewards from sm racing is like building a ladder to the moon or tunnel through the center of the earth. There is no reward, there is only addiction and often times alot of fun to be had living on the edge.

I have lost 4 cars to being put into walls or turned multiple 360s on the straights all at mid Ohio... Never had a hard crash anywhere else, although I have had a couple crashes elsewhere.

I can list one reward I now know how to build a new car in 10 days or less!

Yet I still cannot seem to quit racing although nearly did in 2014, but it had nothing to do with contact.

I have met some great friends racing, and have lots of really great memories, but the risk will always far outweigh the rewards for an amateur sm racer. We do this because we can't stop ourselves I really believe that...

Sorry to hear about your injuries, I had a bad back for over a year after my first big crash but never been hurt since thank God!

K. Webb
Powered by East Street Racing (Best engines in Spec Miata)

Driver coach, Spec Miata Prep shop, Spec Miata Setup

2016 Hard Charger award passing 12 cars runoffs 2016 Mid Ohio

2016 P3 RUNOFFS OVER 40 DIVISION LOL!