DevinE

DevinE

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Car Year:1992
  • Car Number:091

Hello,

I am new to the SM community and I am searching for a used/already built SM for next season.  I enjoy the SM community and sporting aspect of the group.  I have been doing HPDEs the last two years and it always appears as though the SM guys are having the most amount of fun and there is a lot of collaboration on racecraft.  I'm in my 40s, I enjoy  turning wrenches and I have also done various restorations on my MGA and other vehicles.  My family is also supportive of the SM pursuit!

I've been searching through the forums, trying to compile all the data.  I have also engaged some SM guys at different HPDE events.  Unfortunately, none of these SM guys that I engaged are local.  Any advice would be appreciated, since I am a bit overwhelmed with the amount of data out there.  

I'm in the process of arranging a SM rental for a future event at Summit.

I would like to hear from anyone local in Maryland that would care to provide some direction.  I have been focusing on getting a 1.6L SM.  My current car has too much HP and I feel as though I missing those key learning points (no, it's not a Corvette).  I'm open to any suggestions and would like to meet some local guys.  While I live in Ellicott City/Howard county, I often travel through Carroll, Harford, Montgomery, Frederick, Baltimore, Prince Georges and Anne Arundel Counties for work.

My focus areas:

Hearing about lessons learned

Recommendations on the different SMs

Trailer selection

General info

I am very open to information and I realize that I have a lot to learn.

-Devin

• mdavis likes this

Johnny D

Johnny D

Veteran Member

• Moderators
  • 6,121 posts
  • Region:San Francisco
  • Car Year:1999
  • Car Number:88
Welcome Devin, a lot guys and ladies here. A lot of knowledge and support. I'm sure some will chim in. There's always the search feature upper right.

J~