- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

glauser

glauser

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
I've been thinking about building a track car for quite some time and have really only just looked into Spec Miata, although I've known about it for quite some time. I have a couple of absolute newb questions that I'm sure will seem stupid to most.

- First, are Spec Miata cars street legal (or can they be)?
- Is there any 'required reading' that I should look into before I go out, buy a car and start building?
- How does one begin the process to getting a racing license? I have no track experience but quite a lot of autocross experience.
- Can a member of one region compete in events held in other regions?
- Can one car be piloted by multiple drivers (not in the same race, obviously, but over the course of a weekend -- or same car, different drivers in different regions)

I am hoping to build a car over the winter and be ready to go for next year. What are some things you wish you'd known before you got involved?

Thanks

Greg Kimble

Greg Kimble

Improving Member

• SMembers
  • PipPipPip
  • 137 posts
  • Region:Central Florida
  • Car Year:1999
  • Car Number:9
Let me see if I can help with your questions:

I believe that a SM could be driven on the street with a tire change, but with a roll cage, racing exhaust and suspension, I think it would get old quick (maybe I am just getting old)

Read the rules, you can get both the SCCA rules and NASA rules online. Also read Dave Wheeler's Spec Miata Constructors Manual, in addition read as much as you can here on this site and read as much as possible on the old Specmiata.com website.

You can get the specifics on the license requirements off of the SCCA and NASA website, but with respect to SCCA, you start with a membership, get a physical (forms on the website), get a novice permit, complete two driving schools and two events within two years and you will have a regional license.