Jump to content

Photo

GoPro Hero2 HD fails to record?


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1
Glen McCready

Glen McCready

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Location:Redwood City
  • Region:NorCal/SFR
  • Car Year:1991
  • Car Number:4
Okay, either I'm a complete idiot, or these cameras are totally flakey. I get it set up, before the session I push the button on the front to select Video, then I press the button on top to Select/Start. The display shows the time counting up and the red light is blinking at me. After the session I push the Select/Stop button on top to finish the recording.

Repeat this throughout the day. At Laguna Seca a couple weeks ago I got the first two sessions, but only got 12s of the third, and 1m32s of the fourth. This past weekend at Infineon, I got the last 15s of the session as I rolled in to pit lane and then the time in the paddock before I turned the camera off. But absolutely none of the track time -- clearly I wasn't pressing buttons out on track so I've no idea why I only got the very very end of the session.

I've tried importing off the camera directly in to iMovie, which often fails. And I've tried copying the files off the camera to the Desktop and then importing from there which usually succeeds.

So... what am I doing wrong? Or is this camera just a POS?

For short test recordings it always seems to work outside of the car...

#2
RacerX

RacerX

    Member

  • SMembers
  • PipPipPip
  • 94 posts
  • Location:Fairfax, VA
  • Region:WDC
  • Car Year:1991
  • Car Number:51
Sounds like your batteries are running out of energy. Are you charging the batteries between sessions?

#3
Glen McCready

Glen McCready

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Location:Redwood City
  • Region:NorCal/SFR
  • Car Year:1991
  • Car Number:4
I haven't been. But the camera hasn't be complaining. It flaked on the first session of the day on Saturday... it was fully charged leaving the hotel...

#4
FTodaro

FTodaro

    Veteran Member

  • SMembers
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,895 posts
  • Location:Columbus Ohio
  • Region:Great Lakes
  • Car Year:2001
  • Car Number:35
I have a go pro, first you can set it up for a one button start which makes the process a bit simple. Also on your failure to record, make sure that the SD card inside is not locked. if it is it will not let data in or out. That is likley your problem. I like the go pro but its menu is a PITA to get used to.

Frank
TnT Racing
SCCA Ohio Valley Region
Chairman, SCCA Great Lakes Divisional Series Committee.

Make it Rain - Made Paypal donation of $100+ We have a Winnah! - Won their 1st race... Congratulations! Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver Donor - Made PayPal donation

#5
Glen McCready

Glen McCready

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Location:Redwood City
  • Region:NorCal/SFR
  • Car Year:1991
  • Car Number:4
The answer is I'm a complete idiot. I rummaged through the SD card itself and the videos are there -- but iMovie won't import them off the camera. I'll futz with it now that I have the videos on my desktop and see if I can get iMovie working.

#6
Qik Nip

Qik Nip

    Loose Member

  • SMembers
  • PipPipPip
  • 413 posts
  • Location:Florence, Kentucky
  • Region:Cincinnati
  • Car Year:1990
  • Car Number:60

I have a go pro, first you can set it up for a one button start which makes the process a bit simple.


Frank.
I just got mine and I'd love the Cliff notes on this wonderful sounding process!
Rick

2009, 2010 & 2011 SCCA Great Lakes Div. Reg. SM Champ
2006, 2009, 2010 & 2011 Cincy SCCA Reg. Driver of the year
Powered by: Stewart Engines
Set up by: RAFT Motorsports

SM: The safest race car in the world. It can just
barely kill you.



 

Instigator - Made a topic or post that inspired other We have a Winnah! - Won their 1st race... Congratulations! Series Champ - Won a points based series in a Spec Miata Donor - Made PayPal donation Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver

#7
FTodaro

FTodaro

    Veteran Member

  • SMembers
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,895 posts
  • Location:Columbus Ohio
  • Region:Great Lakes
  • Car Year:2001
  • Car Number:35

The answer is I'm a complete idiot. I rummaged through the SD card itself and the videos are there -- but iMovie won't import them off the camera. I'll futz with it now that I have the videos on my desktop and see if I can get iMovie working.

I had to go out and buy a cheap movie editor to download the vid and crop it to post on Utube or other media I am not sure that windows program will run it. I bought a video pad editor by NCH. it was like 35.00 http://www.nchsoftwa...opad/index.html

That should allow you to import the Go Pro porgram, and edit out the parts you don't want, you can add pictures, music and titles. It is not as powerfull as the Sony Vegas pro software I used to use but not near as expensive either.

Frank
TnT Racing
SCCA Ohio Valley Region
Chairman, SCCA Great Lakes Divisional Series Committee.

Make it Rain - Made Paypal donation of $100+ We have a Winnah! - Won their 1st race... Congratulations! Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver Donor - Made PayPal donation

#8
Craig Heyl

Craig Heyl

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Location:Atlanta
  • Region:Atlanta
  • Car Year:1994
  • Car Number:00
iMovie will work perfectly, I use it all the time. However, you must copy the file from the SD card direct to the Desktop, then import into iMovie. Use a card reader, not the camera directly. Sounds like you're already doing that, but check your process. Often if not done fully iMovie will "clip" the file shortening it to some random length. Also, be sure to use at least a 16g or 32g card in the camera.

Craig
Craig Heyl
SM 00
Southeast Region - Atlanta
craigheyl@mac.com




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users