TEAM MEDICARE

TEAM MEDICARE

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 116 posts
  • Region:Glen
  • Car Year:1994
  • Car Number:66
I finally broke down and purchased a Traqmate. The data it produces is amazing and a little overwhelming. For a relative newbe to racing what's the most productive areas to concentrate on? Braking, speed, etc.? Does anybody have a good lap at Watkins Glen they would be willing to share? It seems that this type of comparison would be the most helpful.

Thanks

CruzanTom

CruzanTom

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 295 posts
  • Region:Southeast
  • Car Year:1999
  • Car Number:44
TraqMate is great. I am still a novice but I have had the benefit of having really good drivers share their data with me. I could not imagine learning to race without this help. This is what I use the most:

Some basic things to check are your

1. Consistency lap after lap. If you have a good run, can you do it every lap? If not, see where you are the most different and work on doing the right thing in that Turn each lap.
2. Compare data with another (hopefully better) driver.
A. Use Velocity v. Distance (Under Distance Graphs). Use best laps and compare your speed and braking points with the faster driver. Usually a faster driver will brake earlier but have higher Min speed through turns.
B. Using Acel/Braking Gs v. Distance you can compare how soon and how hard you are braking compared to a better driver.
C. Using Time Gap v. Distance, you can see where you are losing the most time compared to a faster driver. I use this to pick areas on the track where I want to concentrate doing better. You can't do everything better all at once so pick this areas that help you make up the most time.

Good luck!

Tom Hart

#44 SM and T-4

2014 SC Driver of the Year

2015 SE Championship Series Spec Miata Champion

2016 SE Championship Series Spec Miata Champion

We have a Winnah! - Won their 1st race... Congratulations! Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver Donor - Made PayPal donation