21 replies to this topic

William Bonsell

William Bonsell

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 398 posts
  • Region:Northwest
  • Car Year:1999
I've been running Mobil 1 for the past three years in my SM. Just bought a '91 Porsche 944S2 (147K and 10.9-1 compression) with Brad Penn 20-50 oil. Service was done by a specialty Seattle race shop owned by a very prominent member of the Pacific Northwest racing scene. I had never heard of this oil before. Seems to be especially beneficial to engines with a bit more mileage particularly on start up. Also not sure if this is a full synthetic or blended.

Just curious if anyone has any opinions...Thanks.

Bill-
Make it Rain - Made Paypal donation of $100+ Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver

FTodaro

FTodaro

Veteran Member

• SMembers
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,084 posts
  • Region:Great Lakes
  • Car Year:2001
  • Car Number:35
I have been using Brad Penn #1 racing oil in my sm for 3 years and love it. It has tons of zinc in it for racing application. A friend of mine is a dealer, but you can also buy it wholesale from any distributor. last time I paid 55.00 for a case of 12. got to love that when you change oil as frequently as I do. the also make a break in oil that is good.

Its made in Pennsylvania I believe.

Frank
TnT Racing
SCCA Ohio Valley Region

Make it Rain - Made Paypal donation of $100+ We have a Winnah! - Won their 1st race... Congratulations! Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver Donor - Made PayPal donation

LarryKing

LarryKing

Veteran Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,659 posts
I loved him as "Spicoli"
  • dstevens likes this
2017 - SMSE SEDiv ECR Champion
Donor - Made PayPal donation Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver

Doug007

Doug007

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Region:TX
It's not synthetic. It comes from highly refined Pennsylvania crude. I've heard good things too. A lot of the porsche guys that need heavy oils (50wt) use it.

http://www.penngrade1.com/

Keith Andrews