juliancates

juliancates

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Region:NASA MA/SE
  • Car Year:1991
  • Car Number:73
With the Toyo RA-1's, what's the general practice for rain tires, running them full tread or shaving them down somewhat? I'm new to SM and need to order some tires for the upcoming season. Thoughts?
Posted Image
2010 NASA Midwest GTS2 Runner-Up
2011 The SM Saga Begins

Bruce Wilson

Bruce Wilson

Gold Member

• SMembers
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 663 posts
  • Region:Oregon
  • Car Number:68
Full tread for rain, i.e. standing water, etc. Of course you can run inters for damp. Some say to scuff in rains to remove the mold release, but we've never done it and we're not slower than anyone else -- in Oregon :)

-bw

I have an opinion so I must be right

Series Champ - Won a points based series in a Spec Miata Survivalist - Won 25 Hours at Thunderhill! We have a Winnah! - Won their 1st race... Congratulations! Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver

juliancates

juliancates

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Region:NASA MA/SE
  • Car Number:73

Full tread for rain, i.e. standing water, etc. Of course you can run inters for damp. Some say to scuff in rains to remove the mold release, but we've never done it and we're not slower than anyone else -- in Oregon :)

-bw

Thanks! No issues with squirm or chunking with the full tread tires?
Posted Image
2010 NASA Midwest GTS2 Runner-Up
2011 The SM Saga Begins

William Bonsell

William Bonsell

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 398 posts
  • Region:Northwest
  • Car Year:1999

Thanks! No issues with squirm or chunking with the full tread tires?