• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

Speedsterp

Speedsterp

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 15 posts
  • Car Year:1990

I was just about to order some Toyo RR's along with TR Motorsports wheels C1M and noticed they have option for heat cycling.  I am very new to SM 6 HPDE days.  I have been purchasing take offs and decided to try out a new set.  Is having Tire Rack heat cycle something that is worth doing.  I have read a number of posts about proper break in on tires and they 24 hour post run seems common. Is that simply for the 1/10ths of seconds or does it impact into the 1-2 second range.

Caveman-kwebb99

Caveman-kwebb99

Veteran Member

• SMembers
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,062 posts
  • Region:Great lakes
  • Car Year:2000
  • Car Number:99

the heat cycle at the tire dealer is a little better then not doing at all, to me personally not worth.

Best result is heat cycle and put away for a week or two or longer then run again afterwards.  This will make the tire last the longest with the slowest fall off of times from HC to HC.

Most of us are only running the SM6 a max of 4 HC competitively, so we dont care that much about proper break in.  We qaul on stickers and then race on another set of stickers or on 1 HC tires, and turn that tire into a practice set after the 4th HC.  

As we have all said previously every track likes something different.  Some tracks like Mid Ohio like a hardened up old tire where other tracks Like a new tire. It all depends what your going to do with the tires and where your going to run them, as well as what your personal goals are.

But IIMO i would not get a tire Hcycled at the tire dealer, that HC is the tires fastest period! so why pay money to lose the fastest HC???

K. Webb
Powered by East Street Racing (Best engines in Spec Miata)

Driver coach, Spec Miata Prep shop, Spec Miata Setup

2016 Hard Charger award passing 12 cars runoffs 2016 Mid Ohio

2016 P3 RUNOFFS OVER 40 DIVISION LOL!