• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

GregHub

GregHub

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 22 posts
  • Region:NorCal

Another SM newbie here, just bought my'93 already-prepped SM, and now looking at making sure my garage is stocked with at least the minimum essential tools to maintain, set up, and prep the car for entry-level racing starting in 2014. I'm hoping to put together a list of the minimum tools and equipment you need to be safe, meet the regs, keep the car on the track, and avoid unnecessary repairs and expenses, but not necessarily run up front.

(Sorry, I suspect some of this information may already be located somewhere on the site but my searches didn't turn anything up so I thought I'd start a topic thread.)

I'm hoping to put together one list of the "must have" tools (like tire pressure gauge, torque wrench, etc.) and another list of the "nice to have tools" (more sophisticated alignment equipment?), so I can work on getting the stuff I need right away and compile items to go on my already-lengthy racing wish list for later down the line.

Just an FYI that I'll be one of those crazies who's going to be driving his SM to and from the track, so at times I'll be packing all my track tools and any spares in the car with me. I'm in the Bay Area, so I'll be running mostly at Infineon and occasionally at Laguna Seca and Thunderhill, starting with NASA and hopefully branching out to SCCA events later on. I'll be trying to do most of the basic prep and maintenance of the car myself, except for tasks that involve more advanced machinery (I ran Formula Ford for a few years way back when, but most of my mechanical skills are a bit dormant!).

Any suggestions or advice much appreciated.

Armando Ramirez

Armando Ramirez

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 133 posts
  • Region:Florida
  • Car Year:2000
  • Car Number:76