20 replies to this topic

Sphinx

Sphinx

Veteran Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 651 posts
  • Region:ATL

I'm new to Cali and just got my new-to-me F250 (weight 7100 lbs.) registered.  They made me sign one of those "shall not operate at over 10K lbs. forms".  So, an enclosed trailer that I'm considering buying is 3900 lbs. empty + 2300 for the car + 1500 lbs. in parts/crap = roughly 15,000 lbs. for the whole rig.

From what I can tell, I need to register the truck as over 10K, but other than a few fees, what else do I have to do to avoid CHiPs?  Inspections?

Ron Alan

Ron Alan

Veteran Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,732 posts
  • Car Year:1995

Go to DMV.gov and find what they are referring to. I thought this had something to do with when the vehicle is used as a commercial/business vehicle. As a private vehicle you can certainly tow whatever the truck is rated at with no issue i believe??

I got randomly stopped on my way into the dump with my work/dump trailer. Was not giving a ticket but told I needed to change my truck licensing for this exact thing...now its my personal trailer :)  Living life on the edge...

Ron

RAmotorsports

Donor - Made PayPal donation Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver

RWP80000

RWP80000

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 161 posts
  • Region:SoPac
  • Car Year:1999
  • Car Number:2

I think Ron is correct, you need to find out exactly the what & why of the restrictions for the form you signed.  

While I do not live in California, and therefore am not familiar with all of their requirements, my thoughts is that the 10,000 lb limits may be in regard to the Gross Vehicle Weight (GVWR) rating and may be the maximum loaded weight of your truck it's self generally based on axle weight ratings (or it may just be one of those Gov Reg's to get additional fees).