• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

jcl17

jcl17

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Region:Michigan
I’m looking at buying a ‘99 SM that was involved in a front end crash. The owner disclosed that the engine cradle was bent and subframed damaged. He said it is still driven at track days (not races). Not sure how he can do this if the engine is actually not lined up straight??? Anyway, I think the car can be picked up for a song as a parts car at worst. That said, I’d love to get it back up and running as it was once a very fast car (multiple NASA win history) and is a pro build. What could possible be involved in fixing said problems? Can it be drivable again? If car is “trackable now” can I replace the subframe/engine cradle and get new motor mounts and consider it ready for inspection again??? Any advice is appreciated. My mechanical knowledge is very low as I’m new to SM and racing. Thanks.

FTodaro

FTodaro

Veteran Member

• SMembers
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,084 posts
  • Region:Great Lakes
  • Car Year:2001
  • Car Number:35

To me the front sub frame is the engine cradle, so the sub frame itself can be replaceable inexpensively. The question would be is the damage limited to just the sub frame. If the entire front end is twisted it may be able to be straightened.

If it were me and you were serious about buying the car, i would ask to have it looked at first, go to a frame shop, buy two hrs of rack time to put it on a frame rack and have them measure it that will tell you how bad off it is and what it will take to make it straight.

Frank
TnT Racing
SCCA Ohio Valley Region

Make it Rain - Made Paypal donation of $100+ We have a Winnah! - Won their 1st race... Congratulations! Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver Donor - Made PayPal donation

davew

davew

Veteran Member

• SMembers
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,297 posts
  • Region:Chicago
  • Car Year:1999
  • Car Number:72