SteveS

SteveS

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 14 posts
  • Region:NY
  • Car Year:1999
  • Car Number:199

Hi Guys, I'm new at all this, and love these cars now. My car is a 1993 with the original viscous diff.  The car has a high speed severe vibration, and I got black flagged at the Glen due to a rr tire wobble. I've checked everything, and replaced the rr half shaft which had some slop but was not the problem. The car shows over 150k mileage.  The diff has slop in both axle stubs, enough to hear a clunk and see movement chucking them back and forth. The vibration is less severe when up in the air and no weight on the tires.  Should I replace the diff with a used one of the same type? Should I upgrade?  Exactly what parts would be required to upgrade and keep the same track so I could run with NASA or SCCA?  This car will not be a front runner, but a great car to learn and hone skills in.  Thanks in advance for all the expertise...

Bench Racer

Bench Racer

Different strokes for different folks : )

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,508 posts
  • Region:Milwaukee
  • Car Year:1990
  • Car Number:14

Hi Guys, I'm new at all this, and love these cars now. My car is a 1993 with the original viscous diff.  The car has a high speed severe vibration, and I got black flagged at the Glen due to a rr tire wobble. 

With the car jacked up and if you put one hand at the top of the tire and one hand at the bottom of the tire and push and pull with opposite hands do you get some free play, wobble? Try same thing with hands at sides of tire.

If play/wobble occurs it could be the wheel bearing which is pressed into the hub. 

Are the rear control arms/bushings/bolts/cam bolts good?

Is the shock leaking fluid, is the shock good?

Broken record - You are starting to sound like a broken record. Donor - Made PayPal donation Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver

EMatoy

EMatoy

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 103 posts
  • Region:Detroit
  • Car Number:73