• Please log in to reply
54 replies to this topic

Lowlyslows

Lowlyslows

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts

Hey all!

I am in the research process for building a car. I am new to racing and my main track will be Summit Point. I purchased a very clean 1999 Miata with a LSD differential. Car has 100,000 miles on it but runs really well and has no rust. Original owner kept the car in a garage it's whole life and only drove it on nice days. I picked up the Spec Miata Constructors Manual from Advanced Autosports which has been a great read/guide. I am 6'3" 200lbs

I recently purchased a hardtop for the car. I also purchased a mounting kit to bolt the hardtop to the car. The hardtop was ordered new through Mazda but still needs to be built in Japan and shipped. I assume I need to order some Frankenstein bolts to mount it so those will get purchased next after the top arrives.

I am planning to use the roll cage kit from Miatacage.com with the upgrade shelf mount kit as well as a floor drop kit (not sure which one yet).

Question 1: I need to source a racing seat and with my height I would like as much headroom as possible. What do you guys recommended for a seat? Can I use any seat mount or are they specific to the seat?

Question 2: What do you guys recommend for a floor drop kit?

Thanks!

Dave D.

Dave D.

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 199 posts
  • Region:NASA Northeast
  • Car Year:2002
  • Car Number:14

Being 6"3' I would recommend an aluminum seat( the thinner material will let the seat get lower) and really like the Kirkey 71 series seat as one of the better bang for the buck seats.

For floor drops, hands down, Jim Drago's East Street kits fits the best. I have put 15 of these in and each one goes perfectly.

• Steve Scheifler and Lowlyslows like this

Lowlyslows

Lowlyslows

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts
Thanks for the response! I’ll look into the seat and drop. I do like the halo protection.

Bench Racer

Bench Racer