bmarshall1

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Region:SW Florida
  • Car Year:1999
  • Car Number:23

New tire probe 

Sebring long course, 2nd morning run, sunny, clear, 82 deg F, 11:00am.  Hoosiers at end of life, mid/bottom third driver.

Outside   -   Inside   -   Outside

162/166/181 - 174/160/140   FRONT

165/168/171 - 150/160/173  REAR

Are tire temps overrated or a essential tool to adjust camber/toe?

Steve Scheifler

Steve Scheifler

Veteran Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,816 posts
At a glance your example could say as much about the driving as the car, but that’s assuming the driver came in as hot as possible and temps were taken quickly. That can be challenging to impossible so you need to get a feel for mental compensation based on circumstances.

I have no experience at Sebring, hopefully someone who does will share comparable data, so I probably can’t offer better than generic info you can find anywhere on the web. But back to my at-glance impressions:

They are all too low whether cooling before checked, being underworked, or too old and hard to build heat short of excessive sliding.

Left side distribution looks good, almost too good. An under-cambered but also under-driven tire will appear to be using the full width of a tire, as will an optimally set and driven one, albeit at lower temps (see above). Ambient vs track surface temps will impact which part of the tire cools at what rate coming in but your example is not at any extreme so nothing jumps out on that side.

Right Front spread is a bit high but also lowest overall so possibly underworked and/or over cambered, the inside taking too much of the load.

Right Rear is next lowest overall but the spread is reversed relative to the others. All the other possible variables aside, that specifically needs to be understood. There may be an explanation that doesn’t prompt a change, but it needs a look. Did it loose camber, or get toed in? Unlikely a tire issue but not impossible.