• Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

Newton

Newton

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 54 posts
  • Car Year:1990
I am a beginner to the world of performance driving events. The fire started when I was 16 and I went to my first non-NASCAR race at VIR in 2002. It was the Grand-Am race, and I was completely hooked. I had just gotten my first car a 1990 VW Jetta GLi, so as soon as I got home, I started looking at what it would take to build a racecar out of my poor man's BMW.

Now as Im a bit older and wiser, with more bills, I still have the "ITCH" but im looking at it more realistically. I still have the same 90 GLi, but shes getting a bit worn out and long past due for some major overhauls, so the plan is to find a good solid used Miata to drive while the jetta is getting fixed/upgraded slightly. Once the rebuild is complete, I will resume using the Jetta as a daily driver/occasional track car and the Miata will take the role of the main track toy. First order of business on the miata after fixing any general maintenance issues is to install a Hard Core roll bar which will make it legal for HPDE use while the jetta is down.

With that in mind, the only other thing at this point that im overwhelmed by is what is the general opinion on helmets? I just read on the Track DAZE website that 2000 spec helmets are out after this year, so im looking for a SA/M2005 or newer. Preferably a 2010 so that i dont have to worry about it being out of date for quite a while(hopefully). I have also heard from many sources that open face helmets are discouraged, but are not banned until you get into actual racing. Other than that, im looking for the experience you folks have to help guide me. Any brands that are more favorable? Any brands to stay away from? Any gimmicks and gadgets to embrace or stay away from? Can HANS device anchors be added down the road if i upgrade from track days to racing?