8 replies to this topic

danielmo

danielmo

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Region:NWR
  • Car Year:1991
I recently purchased a 1991 Spec Miata 1.6 that had been in a wall banging incident. The car has been repaired now. The engine idles and revs just fine in a no load situation (stationary), but if you attempt to drive it for more than a few feet or even attempt to back up or move forward and quickly put on the brakes, the revs start to drop and eventually the engine dies. Sometimes you can feather the gas to keep it running, but not always. I had an extra AFM that I swapped in, but it made no difference. I'm new to the Miata and not so familiar with electronics and fuel injection. Sure would like to get it running reliably so I can get it on the track for the first time. Any suggestions for what else to check? Thanks in advance for any help. -Dan

Jason J Ball

Jason J Ball

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 170 posts
  • Region:NASA-SE
  • Car Year:1990
  • Car Number:15
Sounds like the fuel pump switch in the AFM turning the fuel pump off. If you have a spare AFM, swap it out and see if it fixes the problem.
Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver

Jason J Ball

Jason J Ball

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 170 posts
  • Region:NASA-SE
  • Car Number:15
Guess I should've read the whole post! Ignore that :rolleyes:
Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver

Keith Novak

Keith Novak

Steadily Improving Member

• SMembers
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,128 posts
  • Region:Northwest/Oregon
  • Car Year:1995
  • Car Number:88
A couple people earlier this year tracked down the same symptoms to something coming loose in the fuel tank and preventing fuel pickup. I had the same symptoms myself but it magically went away. (Which reminds me...I need to look in my fuel tank.)
Donor - Made PayPal donation Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver We have a Winnah! - Won their 1st race... Congratulations!

Bench Racer

Bench Racer

Different strokes for different folks : )

• Members