• Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

Michael Steinbock

Michael Steinbock

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Hi All,

Over the past 4 years, I've done just over ten HPDE's in my '07 Civic Si, and I recently decided to hold off on any further mods to the good ol' civic and take a step up over to SM. I'm new to SM, and I'm primarily looking in online classifieds to find my car to be. I am aiming between $6-10k for the car to buy (grad school limited funds...), and I plan to only HPDE it the first year to adjust to RWD and get to know the car (both driving and mechanically).

As far as actually buying the car, I will almost certainly be driving 6+ hours to wherever the seller happens to be. As I'm new to SM, what sort of things should I be asking for before I make that drive out and back, and then what should I look for when I actually get there? I recently was wondering what you all do as far as test drives when most of these cars are not street legal... Do you just take their word?

I'd love to hear your thoughts as I start to check out more cars.

Thanks!
-Mike

Tom Hampton

Tom Hampton

Egregious Member

• SMembers
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,060 posts
  • Region:South west
  • Car Year:1992
  • Car Number:41
Welcome! How about tell us where you are. You might not have to go as far as you think.

-tch
Build: www.tomhampton.info

video: vimeo.com/tomhampton

Support: X-Factor Racing

I didn't lose, I just got outspent!

Beta-Tester - Assisted us with beta testing the website. Donor - Made PayPal donation Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver

Michael Steinbock

Michael Steinbock

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Dayton, OH. There's one car I know of for sale here, but it's out of my price range. A few are scattered around the East coast area though that I've found so far.

dstevens

dstevens

Veteran Member

• SMembers
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,404 posts
  • Region:LVR