plane

plane

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 62 posts
  • Region:Utah
  • Car Year:1992
  • Car Number:71
I am pretty new to SM and really enjoying it. I have a Street Legal car that I bought really cheap, as it was ridden hard and put away wet. As I learn more about what it takes to compete, I wonder why I thought that Street Legal was a good thing. My local track is only 15 min. away, but now, I can't imagine actually driving to the track with this much negative camber, worrying about heat cycles and wear and shaved tires.

Is there any reason I should keep registering the car other then to impress the noob (like me) that I sell it too in the future?

Jim Boemler

Jim Boemler

Veteran Member

• Moderators
  • 852 posts
  • Region:NWR
  • Car Number:30
At 15 minutes away, I'd definitely drive it to the track. Then again, I drive mine 200 miles to the track. ;)

Don't worry about camber and heat cycles at all. Street wear is literally nothing in terms of wear or heat, compared to track time. Don't count street driving as a cycle, and wear isn't an issue unless you plan to drive cross-country. The big thing about driving to the track is saving on towing cost -- and in my case, the impossibility of storing a truck and trailer. If you've already GOT a truck and trailer, then by all means use them; but if you don't, driving to the track is a perfectly good way to go.

Cnj

Cnj

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 487 posts
  • Region:Sw
  • Car Year:1999
  • Car Number:32
When I hear of someone driving a race car (with full roll cage) on the street, I always wonder about the real risks of head injury of any (even low speed) accident due to the roll bars. Unless of course you wear your helmet driving to the track...

Cnj
We have a Winnah! - Won their 1st race... Congratulations! Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver

Jim Boemler

Jim Boemler

Veteran Member

• Moderators
  • 852 posts