36 replies to this topic

Brendan O

Brendan O

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 215 posts
  • Region:SE
  • Car Year:2003
So in Danny’s “Road Atlanta National - Race update” thread, I asked opinions on best method for driving T1 – T3. That got quite a few responses – mainly because of different opinions (of course). Part of the reason I asked is that I am new to driving on a track and just had OPM build a SM for me (they did a great job). They finished in March this year and I wrecked on my first weekend with the car at T3. It was my very first wreck and was quite depressing since it was a brand new build. When I wrecked I had about 8 HPDE weekends in total – mostly Road Atlanta and Barber. In terms of just Road Atlanta, I had a total of about 15 hrs of HPDE with around 4 hrs of instruction. My best is 1:50. I don't have any autoX or karting experience.

As far as the wreck, it was not very good driving at all. I have gone around T3 apex at 70 mph a few times. But this time I did it slower at 65 mph. In the NASA SE class before session, the instructor said you can get right up on the T3 curbing. So I decided to drive up on curbing more than I have done in the past. So the steering wheel was turned to the right quite a bit. I then went to 100% throttle as right rear tire was still bouncing over curbing (in the video 94% throttle is really 100%). I think this caused rear wheels to spin and thus the rear of car stepped out to the left. I was slow to get off throttle and slow to counter steer. I then panicked and locked up the tires (1200 PSI !!) which meant I was not going to change direction. Then I hit the inside wall.