Danny Steyn

Zulu rain warrior

• SMembers
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,439 posts
  • Region:FL
  • Car Year:1999
  • Car Number:39
Ok, so with JD's blessing, I will kick off new Off Topic venue off with something sure to get a few views - Perhaps some of you will find this offiensive.... oh well

At the end of January I had the privilege to work with Arny Freytag, Playboy's most prolific Centerfold shooter with more that 120 centerfolds to his credit. Over the years I have admired his work, not just cheking out the obviously smoking centerfolds he has shot, but more how he shot them. The more I studied his images, the more it became obvious that he is an absolute master of lighting and over the years we have tried to mimic what he does. And so, over the years we invested in more and more lights, and currently we light our boudoir sets with around 10-15 strobes all placed to create highlights and shadows on body parts to emphasize the curve and shape of the model's body, as well as selectively highlighting background elements to create depth and interest.

But what was fascinating to learn working with Arny is that he never lights a centerfold with less than 20 lights, sometimes as many as 40, and all are positioned incredibly tight to the subject and tightly scrimmed to create very defined small pools of light. In the days before digital, it would take him and his team around a week just to light the set, and then a day of shooting. Now with digital it takes a day and ahlf to get the set lit and get the shot.

It was most enjoyable to see him work and a great learning event for me, and one I will remember for a long time.

As an FYI I had many of my commerical images published in the various editions of Playboy, but never a cover or centerfold. One day perhaps!!!!

Here are a couple of shots from the shoot

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image
  • Glenn likes this

Danny
Danny Steyn Racing | DSR YouTube Channel