Parity

Parity

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 415 posts
  • Region:North East
  • Car Year:1999
  • Car Number:51
After having a rough year with a few wrecks I'm contemplating the buildup of another '99. My last wreck was the most serious so I'm studying the cage design and crumple zones before making a final decision. I'm only considering no compromise cage options from top builders. A major design difference and potential safety concern in how far back the rear bars go into the trunk and whether they potentially compromise the crumple zone.

Looking for input here and yes I will also be running a full containment seat.
Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver

Alberto

Alberto

Veteran Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,471 posts
  • Region:SFR
  • Car Year:1990

fwiw...

With the TC Design cage in my car, the rear bars stop just after the shock towers.  I presume that is for the reason you mentioned - allow the tub to crumple before making contact with the cage and transferring energy through the rest of the car.

Bench Racer

Bench Racer

Different strokes for different folks : )

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,508 posts
  • Region:Milwaukee
  • Car Number:14

My cage designed by "Bench" has rearward tubes that end at a pad just after the shock mount with angled tubes from the same rear pad traveling to the middle of the main hoop horizontal which has a Petty tube traveling to the base of the front left down tube. It's been tested when someone used the rear of the car for his brakes. As the rear verticle panel of the trumk caved in, the floor of the trunk crumpled and the left rear inverted chassis "U" bent downward left and upward from inside the trunk. Frame machine pulled it back to as good as new other than my newly painted trunk now looks well used. And before the frame machine the the car swas cornered, alignment/camber was checked with all being as good as when it ws originally done.