Photo

Low on Power. Potential Things to Look for?

- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

cmonkey99

cmonkey99

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

So I raced my second weekend at Utah Motorsports campus this year. Renting the car from somebody. 

I have 14 years racing under my belt but this is my first year in the car. Nothing is known about the engine save for it was built by Ti Speed at one point. 

I ended up getting runs on both 1st and 2nd place drivers in the race but even in the draft, they were already pulling me by the end of the straights. Was wondering what might be the issue or is my motor just too old and tired to keep up? Both were 1.6s, I'm in a 94 1.8. Could refreshing the valves or rings be enough of a fix?

- Carter

Jspaid142

Jspaid142

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Region:Mid-atlantic
  • Car Year:2000
  • Car Number:89

We can speculate all day, but the best thing to do is dyno the car at a shop that does SMs often, that way they can tell you if the motor is competitive or not. Keep in mind things such as hubs & brakes can cause extra drag which doesn't necessarily show up on the dyno but will show up on the track. 

Just because they pulled on you in the straights doesn't necessarily mean your motor is tired, they could just be getting off the corners faster than you

-Joe

James York

James York

AKA Cajun Miata Man; Overdog Driver

• SMembers
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 898 posts
  • Region:Houston
  • Car Year:2003
  • Car Number:03

The first thing I do when I think my motor may be going south is do a leak down on all the cylinders.  It's a quick easy way to make a first pass determination if you have some bad valves or rings.

James York

sponsored by:
Stan's Auto Center, Lafayette LA

powered by:
East Street Racing, Memphis TN

2003 Spec Miata

Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver

MPR22

MPR22

Veteran Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,138 posts
  • Region:Southwest
  • Car Year:1999
  • Car Number:22