Brandon

Veteran Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 765 posts
  • Region:NNJR
  • Car Year:1996
  • Car Number:48SM
What make/model of jacks have you guys had good experience with?

I bought one of the HF AL 3K pound jobbers last year and attempting to take the Miata off the stands last weekend and I ended up with zero lift after multiple pumps. Move to grab the other 2-ton model (Torin I've had for YEARS) and it managed to do basically the same thing - barely any lift.

Zero leaks under both jacks so I'm stumped. I've never heard of jack fluid evaporating but hey, I'm not an expert. :)

So I'm in the market for jacks: both at the track and at the garage.
The track only has to lift half a car (the Miata or the M3) and the garage one will be for the Expedition.

I'm considering for the garage the seriously low-profile models (AC Hydraulics, Ranger, or Omega) since I don't have to haul them around in the trailer and with blocking it will reach all points under the cars/truck.

However, getting into the lightweight AL jacks for the track I'm getting conflicting data and was hoping for some clarification from those who might have used them. The models for the track I'm seeing are Brunnhoelzl, Zinko, & Pace Sports but those seem to be the "Corvette ZR-1" models of jacks.

Basically, I'm one who's willing to pay for good tools and find buying and re-buying the cheapies beyond a pain: especially when you're in a crunch mode and your dollar savings on a jack means you can't get your car off the jack stands when you need to.

Sooo, feedback and opinions welcome and requested!

Thanks!
Brandon
Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver

fishguyaz

fishguyaz

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 119 posts
  • Region:AZ
  • Car Year:1999
  • Car Number:92
brandon,
i am the same as you as far as buying quality tools. i usually dont by stuff at HF, but i did get the 4,000lb AL racing jack on the recommendation of a friend.