- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

AustinRJ

AustinRJ

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Hi. I am new to racing and need some tips for setting up a Miata for my 6'5", 185 lb frame. I will likely have my car professionally set up at Driveway Austin after I find a good Miata to buy.

What year Miata would be best? I saw another tall driver on this board is driving a '99. Is a '99 a bit bigger than older Miatas?

Also, are some roll cage set ups better than others?

Any tips you can give me so my car will fit me well would be really helpful.

Thanks!

HoneyBadger - BrianW

HoneyBadger - BrianW

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 416 posts
  • Region:Southwest
  • Car Year:1999
  • Car Number:59
I don't know that a 99 is any bigger than the 1.6's but the min weight is higher. I am 6'5" but weight 220, 230 with driver gear so making weight is a concern. At 185 you should have no issues making weight in either model of car. One of the largest differences in buying a built car is the quality of the cage. There are a LOT of bad cages in cars out there. For me, I was not able to find an already built car that I would fit in because of the cage, so I built one. Others may differ in opinion, but I think for someone who is 6'5" you will be better off building a car. You are at the very extreme height of someone that will fit in a miata. Buying a car is much cheaper, but you have to find a car that you will be comfortable in.

Some things I would look for in a cage are:
  • Main hoop distance to B pillar
  • How tight is the A pillar hoop to the side of the car- landing perch
  • Are there any diagonals that will interfere with your head

The main hoop distance to the B pillar will determine how far back you are able to get the seat (you will definitely have to notch the tranny tunnel). The A pillar hoop landing perch will determine if you are able to access the dead pedal.
Make it Rain - Made Paypal donation of $100+ Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver