Jump to content

Photo

GoPro settings / issues

- - - - - Gopro traqmate hero2 video data

  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1
Dave Metz

Dave Metz

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 109 posts
  • Location:Galion, Oh
  • Region:OVR
  • Car Year:1999
  • Car Number:36
I have a Traqmate complete system and have a Gopro Hero2 connected. It worked fine 12 months ago, however I've been having issues with it either not turning on, or turning on and then shutting off a minute or so later. Not sure if it is a settings issue, something with the Traqmate,or what? Tried replacing SD card and battery. Any suggestions? Or possibly does anyone have a list of settings they use that I can check mine against to make sure that isn't it? Thanks.
Make it Rain - Made Paypal donation of $100+ Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver

#2
Keith Andrews

Keith Andrews

    Veteran Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 732 posts
  • Location:FL450
  • Region:CCR, SE
  • Car Year:1999
  • Car Number:26

I have the same setup and had a similar problem.  One problem I had was my Traqmate (Display) was full of data.  I emptied it out by going to the Change Settings menu, then Erase Sessions.  The other issue I have had is with my connections.  I don't have locking connectors, sometimes the connections get jostled and aren't making a solid connection.  This is intermittently an issue.  I just have to make sure everything is plugged in properly.  I'm not sure about the SD card, possibly reformatting the card to ensure it is empty. 


  • Consultant SEO likes this
Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver

#3
Dave Metz

Dave Metz

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 109 posts
  • Location:Galion, Oh
  • Region:OVR
  • Car Year:1999
  • Car Number:36
Did have the display full of data and cleared it. Tried two cards. Will see if reformatting does anything. Unsure on connections, will check. The last few sessions it turned on fine as it was supposed to, but just shut off after a minute or so. Even tried shutting the traqmate down on the pace lap and restarting, but it did nothing then.
Make it Rain - Made Paypal donation of $100+ Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver

#4
CruzanTom

CruzanTom

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 295 posts
  • Location:SC
  • Region:Southeast
  • Car Year:1999
  • Car Number:44

One GoPro issue can occur if you use a Mac. After deleting a video off of the GoPro SD card, you must empty the trash while the SD card is still in the computer. Otherwise, GoPro thinks the SD card is full and shuts off after starting.


Tom Hart

#44 SM and T-4

2014 SC Driver of the Year

2015 SE Championship Series Spec Miata Champion

2016 SE Championship Series Spec Miata Champion

We have a Winnah! - Won their 1st race... Congratulations! Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver Donor - Made PayPal donation

#5
Ron Alan

Ron Alan

    Veteran Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,675 posts
  • Location:Northern CA
  • Car Year:1995

Had the same problem recently...and there may have been a Mac involved :pessimist:


Ron

RAmotorsports

 

Donor - Made PayPal donation Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver

#6
JoMo

JoMo

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Region:Norcal
  • Car Year:1999
  • Car Number:71

I had the same problem and updated the firmware and it worked fine after that.



#7
Dave Metz

Dave Metz

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 109 posts
  • Location:Galion, Oh
  • Region:OVR
  • Car Year:1999
  • Car Number:36
Not using a Mac. JoMo, are you talking Traqmate firmware update, or is there a firmware from GoPro?
Make it Rain - Made Paypal donation of $100+ Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver

#8
JoMo

JoMo

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Region:Norcal
  • Car Year:1999
  • Car Number:71

Gopro firmware and i use a pc



#9
Keith Andrews

Keith Andrews

    Veteran Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 732 posts
  • Location:FL450
  • Region:CCR, SE
  • Car Year:1999
  • Car Number:26

The Traqmate forum has a Thread about problems with the GoPro Hero 2 version 222 software with Traqmate.  They have information on there to back date your GoPro software to version 124, as a fix.  It's a very convoluted work around process that requires you to soft "Brick" your camera.

 

That was a new term for me:

 

“Bricking” essentially means a device has turned into a brick. It may be an electronic device worth hundreds of dollars, but it’s now as useful as a brick (or perhaps a paperweight). A bricked device won’t power on and function normally. 

 

I tried this first and thought I had ruined my GoPro camera.  I was able to recover it after a few Oh Shlitz and battery pulls.

 

Then I found out GoPro released another update on July 29, 2013, version 312 that is supposed to address the issues that version 222 created.

 

From the GoPro site.

 

Changes: Improved system stability, GoPro App integration, Addressed One Button Mode Issues, Resolved firmware update issues.  

 

The GoPro software up date is a very straight forward process that takes a few minutes. 

 

One of the glitches is exactly what was posted by Dave in his original post.

 

 

 

 

 

 


Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver

#10
Keith Andrews

Keith Andrews

    Veteran Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 732 posts
  • Location:FL450
  • Region:CCR, SE
  • Car Year:1999
  • Car Number:26

FWIW, I just saw on another site that Traqmate has tested the new Version 312 software and it works with Traqmate.  It has a lag of 1.325 seconds, so you have to synch the video to data but it starts and stops correctly.


Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver

#11
Keith Andrews

Keith Andrews

    Veteran Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 732 posts
  • Location:FL450
  • Region:CCR, SE
  • Car Year:1999
  • Car Number:26

I ran the new GoPro software this weekend and it worked.  I messed something up trying to delete files off my SD card on Saturday and missed the following run.  I reformatted the card overnight and on Sunday I just let it record all day and got 4 complete runs, no hick ups.


Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver

#12
Dave Metz

Dave Metz

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 109 posts
  • Location:Galion, Oh
  • Region:OVR
  • Car Year:1999
  • Car Number:36

The Traqmate forum has a Thread about problems with the GoPro Hero 2 version 222 software with Traqmate.  They have information on there to back date your GoPro software to version 124, as a fix.  It's a very convoluted work around process that requires you to soft "Brick" your camera.

 

That was a new term for me:

 

“Bricking” essentially means a device has turned into a brick. It may be an electronic device worth hundreds of dollars, but it’s now as useful as a brick (or perhaps a paperweight). A bricked device won’t power on and function normally. 

 

I tried this first and thought I had ruined my GoPro camera.  I was able to recover it after a few Oh Shlitz and battery pulls.

 

Then I found out GoPro released another update on July 29, 2013, version 312 that is supposed to address the issues that version 222 created.

 

From the GoPro site.

 

Changes: Improved system stability, GoPro App integration, Addressed One Button Mode Issues, Resolved firmware update issues.  

 

The GoPro software up date is a very straight forward process that takes a few minutes. 

 

One of the glitches is exactly what was posted by Dave in his original post.

OK.   So when I had an issue with my first Gopro at the end of last year I bit the bullet and bought a second one and planned on sending the first in.   Well.   I tried the update deal following a video on youtube that showed exactly what was happening.   Gopro #2 corrected according to plans and is functioning.  However... Gopro #1 had an issue halfway through the process and is officially a brick.   I tried going back through step by step at least 12 times.   At least I have the one functioning again.  


Make it Rain - Made Paypal donation of $100+ Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver

#13
Dave Metz

Dave Metz

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 109 posts
  • Location:Galion, Oh
  • Region:OVR
  • Car Year:1999
  • Car Number:36

FWIW, I just saw on another site that Traqmate has tested the new Version 312 software and it works with Traqmate.  It has a lag of 1.325 seconds, so you have to synch the video to data but it starts and stops correctly.

I do have that lag now.   Is there a way to set the delay exactly, or do you just have to run and pause til you get it close?


Make it Rain - Made Paypal donation of $100+ Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver

#14
Dave Metz

Dave Metz

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 109 posts
  • Location:Galion, Oh
  • Region:OVR
  • Car Year:1999
  • Car Number:36

I ran the new GoPro software this weekend and it worked.  I messed something up trying to delete files off my SD card on Saturday and missed the following run.  I reformatted the card overnight and on Sunday I just let it record all day and got 4 complete runs, no hick ups.

 

What program are you saving your video files to?   It worked all weekend after the update.   Then I pulled my SD card out and tried to save the Sunday race to windows on the laptop as I usually do and got an error C00D119A.  Say it can't play it because the player might not support the file type or a required codec might not be installed on your computer.   Thinking I am not meant to have video...


Make it Rain - Made Paypal donation of $100+ Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Gopro, traqmate, hero2, video, data

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users