Photo

How do I analyze data to reduce lap time?

- - - - - data acquisition lap time Hoosier lateral G corner radius data analysis

• Please log in to reply
82 replies to this topic

Brendan O

Brendan O

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 215 posts
  • Region:SE
  • Car Year:2003
Hi,
I’m just starting out so at the moment I am just doing HPDE events while I learn to go fast in my 2003 Miata. It has the SM suspension, the Hoosier SM6 tire and crappy Hawk HP Plus pads (I have Carbotechs but I’m waiting for the Hawk pads to get used up). Once my lap times are decent I plan on going to the SCCA Roebling Double Driver School.

I have an AIM EVO4 data logger and I use AIM Race Studio software (I like Race Studio but I should have gotten Traqmate system since it is more prevalent here in the SE).

For Road Atlanta, my best time is 1:50.3
For Barber Motorsports Park, my best time is 1:53.2

I am trying to prioritize what I should be working on. I know having a good coach can help a lot but for now I think I can shave some seconds off on my own. For priorities, I think people have said:
  • learn the correct line and be consistent with turn in, track out, breaking,
  • learn smooth steering inputs, smooth release of brakes, smooth downshifts,
  • learn good car control skills – quick hands to correct too much oversteer,
  • try trail braking.

When looking at my AIM data, with good Hoosiers, it seems I can easily pull 1.3 lateral G for more than a second and sometimes it looks like I can pull more than 1.4 G. When I look at my lap data, I notice that on some corners at Road Atlanta and Barber, I don’t come anywhere near 1.3G. I go around corner at 0.9G to 1.1G. I think I have a good line and I’m reasonably smooth (except for some heel-toe downshifts like Rd Atl T5).