• Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

MSJP

MSJP

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Region:West
This is my first time choosing and buying a miata so I may need some pointers on what to look for.
I have bought and sold tons of cars but are there any special quirks about the miatas I should be looking for?
Shall I buy a first gen body or second gen?
I am able and willing to prepare this car with my blood sweat and tears and feel like I should take on this project to get back onto the track again after a 5 year vacation. I would like to get serious and hit the track again soon.
How much did you guys spend building your "spec miatas" while doing almost all or most of the work yourself?
Thanks for your answers guys.

LarryKing

LarryKing

Veteran Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,659 posts
If I were to start from scratch I would buy the cleanest '99 I could afford - simply because its a later model.

Jeez - my '91 is 21 y/o now!!!
  • MSJP likes this
2017 - SMSE SEDiv ECR Champion
Donor - Made PayPal donation Bona fide - A bonafide Spec Miata driver

Caveman-kwebb99

Caveman-kwebb99

Veteran Member

• SMembers
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,062 posts
  • Region:Great lakes
  • Car Year:2000
  • Car Number:99

If I were to start from scratch I would buy the cleanest '99 I could afford - simply because its a later model.

Jeez - my '91 is 21 y/o now!!!

+10,000,000

K. Webb
Powered by East Street Racing (Best engines in Spec Miata)

Driver coach, Spec Miata Prep shop, Spec Miata Setup

2016 Hard Charger award passing 12 cars runoffs 2016 Mid Ohio

2016 P3 RUNOFFS OVER 40 DIVISION LOL!

2015 First consolation prize Northern Conference Majors Title Pageant
2015 Winner Circus Cat Majors Road America

2015 Winner BlackHawk Majors crash fest

My Signature is still not as long as Danny boy's